About us

Preservation Kentucky is a membership-based public charity nonprofit devoted to preserving buildings, structures and sites throughout the Commonwealth. As stewards of historic preservation, we play a vital role in the protection and promotion of our state heritage, and are committed to preserving vestiges of all Kentuckians’ unique and diverse past. Everyone is welcome and encouraged to participate.

our history & mission

Preservation Kentucky was formed in 1998 as an educational and advocacy nonprofit by Commonwealth Preservation Advocates (CPA), a lobbying organization founded in 1987 to champion preservation friendly legislation at the local, state and federal levels.

Preservation Kentucky’s mission is to make Kentucky’s communities and historic places stronger, more vital and economically sustainable through preservation, education and advocacy; to promote the preservation of historic buildings and landscapes as economic drivers and placemaking for community character; and, to connect Kentuckians to their heritage through educational programs, partnerships, camaraderie and special events.

our board & staff

Grady Walter, Board Chair
Clay Barkley, Board Vice-Chair
David Morgan, Treasurer
Joe Klare, Board Secretary
Doug Appler, PhD
Fowler Black
Neill Caudill
Candy Charters
Miranda Clements
Janet Levinson
Chris Robinson
Ted Stone
Richard Taylor, PhD
Garlan VanHook, AIA

Betsy Hatfield, Executive Director

Becky Eblen, Development Associate

Brittany Sams, Intern

Learn More
our partners

Preservation Kentucky would like to extend a special thanks to our Preservation Partners and Corporate Sponsors.

Learn More