Congratulations to Our 2017 Excellence in Preservation Award Recipients!

A diversity of programs, projects and people are represented this year from Campbell, Fayette, Franklin, Harlan, Jefferson, McCracken, Oldham and Pulaski Counties.  Established in 2012 to honor the exceptional contributions of Kentuckians who have excelled in preserving the Commonwealth’s rich heritage, the awards feature projects from urban and rural communities, and people who have demonstrated diligence in preserving the built environment, promoting sustainability, and providing educational programs.  The awards are named after Kentuckians who have a long service of dedicated volunteer and professional time devoted to preserving Kentucky’s architectural, cultural and prehistoric heritage; and, they underscore the economic development and quality of life benefits of historic preservation.


“The annual awards are an important event for Preservation Kentucky and the community-at-large,” said executive director Betsy Hatfield.  “It’s a time for us to recognize those who have made a significant contribution to the field, and excelled in areas that are critical to our work – advocacy, education, tax credits, craftsmanship, heritage tourism, sustainability, public service and professional development.”


“Each of our recipients has demonstrated a success the public needs to hear about; our collective work is what makes historic preservation doable, effective and understandable to the general public who needs to understand it.  We are continually educating Kentuckians on why preservation is good business, and advocating for better legislation to incentivize it for those who are willing to do it.”



Edith S. Bingham Excellence in Preservation Education Award

Gathering Our History:  East End African-American Neighborhood Project Fayette County

William Wells Brown and Martin Luther King Neighborhood Associations for Gathering Our History, the public celebration and documentation of the people and places of the African-American experience in East End Lexington during the 19th and 20th centuries.  Thomas Tolliver, Organizer.


Christy and Owsley Brown II Excellence in Public Service to Preservation Award 

Jody Robinson, City of BellevueCampbell County

For her work with the Bellevue and Fort Thomas Main Street programs, Northern Kentucky Weekend project, and collaborations with Covington, Newport and other Northern Kentucky Communities.


Linda Bruckheimer Excellence in Rural Preservation Award

Laura Lee Brown and Steve Wilson Oldham County

For the preservation of the mid-1800s Hermitage and Woodland Farms; the conservation and sustainability of the farmland; and, the restoration of the historic homes, chapel, smokehouse, barns and other historic resources on the properties.  Listed in the National Register of Historic Places.


Helen Dedman Excellence in Preservation Advocacy Award  

Jim PriceCampbell County

For his diligence recovering, retrieving and returning the original, magnificent stained-glass windows to their original home, the circa 1869 Victorian era McIlvain House; his dedication promoting appropriate restoration; and for restoring one of Newport’s most endangered homes in the Mansion Hill Neighborhood of the East Row Historic District.  Listed in the National Register of Historic Places.


Barbara Hulette Excellence as Young Preservationist Award

Carter Scott, AIAJefferson County

For his work on historic buildings, knowledge and advancement of the historic preservation field, and leadership role in the rehabilitation of the circa 1898 Fayette County Courthouse in downtown Lexington.  Listed in the National Register of Historic Places.


Patrick Kennedy Excellence in Preservation Craftsmanship   

Tony Vince, Craftsman – Woodford County / Tom McDowell, ConservatorFayette County  

For the restoration of one of Kentucky’s few terra cotta facades; for protecting the architectural integrity of the 1909 Beaux Arts style Hopewell Museum (Old Post Office Building) in Paris, Bourbon County; and, for exemplifying excellence in craftsmanship combining source materials, experience, knowledge and exceptional skills.  Listed in the National Register of Historic Places.                                  


David L. Morgan Excellence in Kentucky Commercial Historic Preservation Tax Credit Award

Paducah Coca-Cola Bottling Plant, Owners Ed and Meagan MussellmanMcCracken County

For the successful rehabilitation of Paducah’s finest Art Deco building; and, the Musselman’s vision repurposing the large 1939 historic resources into a vibrant multi-use center.  Listed in the National Register of Historic Places.


David L. Morgan Excellence in Kentucky Residential Historic Preservation Tax Credit

310 West Columbia Street, Owner Bryan DenneyPulaski County

For the thoughtful renovation and preservation of a neglected 1890 two-story Queen Anne style home in Somerset that was truly a labor of love and shows it.  Listed in the National Register of Historic Places.


Ann Early Sutherland Excellence in Green Preservation Award

Pine Mountain Settlement SchoolHarlan County

For incorporating historic preservation and conservation into their environmental education programs; promoting stewardship of our historic resources, natural lands and waterways; providing building crafts and skills development for mountain youth; and, preserving Kentucky’s natural environment and Appalachian culture. Founded in Bledsoe in 1913.  A National Historic Landmark, and listed in the National Register of Historic Places.


Preservation Kentucky Excellence in Kentucky Heritage Award 

Old Fire Copper Distillery, Buffalo TraceFranklin County

For the discovery, archaeological excavation, preservation and interpretation of the remnants of Col. E. H. Taylor’s 1869, 1873 and 1883 distillers in what was then Leestown (Frankfort).  A National Historic Landmark, and listed in the National Register of Historic Places.